3 replies to this topic

#1 Smoothpanic

Smoothpanic

Contributor

• 8 posts
  • LocationNew York City

Posted 10 June 2013 - 08:40 PM

Hi,

I am not an expert, but I was attempting the Beginner Event at Zandvoort with the Saleen, and generally found the car very hard to handle and I don't think it feels right.

System:

Intel i7 920 2600x4

18gb RAM

Nvidia 650TI, 1GB

1920x1200 High

SRW S1 wheel

No assists except for autoclutch and ABS.

I've never had major issues with any car's physics before.

Description.

While I am not a great driver, I can generally get around a track fine with any car if I don't push the envelope.  The Saleen S7 as currently modeled feels like the front wheels are underneath the driver seat.  The weight transfer from acceleration to braking feels exagerated. The steering feels like it gets much less sensitive the harder you turn it.  I can't really explain it much better than this.

Or imagine a car with a giant single wheel in the middle that allows only 3 tires to touch the ground at once. The weight shift rom gas to brake, then off brake to turn just feels really wobbly and hard to control.  Its just not enjoyable when I can't feel at all when the car will go loose, or severely understeer.  The saleen understeers a lot, and I have yet to oversteer spin it, which is my usual problem.  For a car with such a low center of gravity I would think it would feel a little more predictable.

I am only a SQ 780 driver, so I may just need to get better to appreciate this model, but I can drive anything in my garage better than the Saleen right now.

Thanks for listening. I enjoy your product a great deal.

Smoothpanic

#2 Guest_SRW_Dawson_*

Guest_SRW_Dawson_*

Posted 10 June 2013 - 10:19 PM